Chicken Enchiladas

chickenchiladas1Chicken Enchiladas is one of my go-to meals to gift.  You know…the meals you make for other people.  Easy to freeze and reheat.  I like to make a couple different meals/casseroles for families/couples who have just had a baby, this meal is always included.

Last week, though, we had Bob’s cousin, Dave and his fiance, Christine over for dinner and this is what I made.  Here’s how I do it.

Ingredients

  • ≈ 1 lb. chicken, cooked and chopped
  • 1/2 red onion
  • 4 oz. can diced green chiles
  • 1/2 cloves minced garlic
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 2 can enchilada sauce
  • 2 cups (or more) shredded Mexican cheese
  • 10-14 small flour tortillas

First, I chopped the onion and chicken.  I love this recipe to use up leftover grilled chicken, so mine was also marinated, but you could even boil/broil some chicken and shred it.  Whatever you like/works for you.onion.chickTo the onion and chicken, I add the can of diced green chiles and minced garlic (I use the pre-minced because I think it’s easier.  1 clove = about 1/2 tsp), sour cream, 1/2 cup of cheese (I just use a bag of the Mexican blend), and one can of enchilada sauce.chile.garlic.mixNow that we have the filling, spray a 9 x 13 casserole dish with cooking spray. (Yes, that’s  my huge hand…)spray.dishNow, you want to use flour tortillas.  They are much easier to roll.  For some reason (pregnancy brain?!), I told Bob to get corn tortillas.  This is what happened…enchiladafailCorn tortillas just don’t have as much give as flour tortillas so they just cracked and fell apart on me when I tried to roll my enchiladas.  So I just had Bob grab flour tortillas on the way home from work.  I like to use the small ones.  When you’re rolling, you want to go pretty quickly and kinda tuck them snug next to each other in the casserole dish so they don’t unroll.tortillasrolledOnce you’ve got all the tortillas rolled (how many you end up with just depends on how much you use to fill them, I usually end up with about 12-14), pour over the other can of enchilada sauce and sprinkle the remaining cheese on top.

Cover them with foil and bake in a 350°F oven for 20 minutes, removing the foil for the last 5-10 minutes.  I was so anxious to get them in the oven, I forgot to take a picture.  This was after I removed the foil.sauce.cheese.addedLooking so good already!!  I served our’s with a side of Cilantro-Lime Rice.  They were SOOOO good!withriceThis recipe is a great freezer meal too.  Freeze them for a few hours after rolling in the casserole dish, then put them in gallon size freezer bags and take out however many you need at a time.  Just cover them with enchilada sauce and cheese and bake covered with foil for about 1 hour, removing the foil for the last 5-10 minutes.

Hope you enjoy these as much as I do! Olé!

Leave a comment