How to UN-shrink your pants

**Sorry about the absence.  I haven’t had access to my computer for a while because we were out of town for Easter weekend and then we were having issues with our computer power cord.  Luckily, I bought a new one yesterday and we are good to go.  I hope to put up an Easter recap post by the end of next week.

So, right before Thanksgiving, I bought a new pair of jeans.  I literally wore them once before I accidentally shrunk them in the dryer.  (I’m not a pro at doing laundry.)  I tried to rock them anyway, but they were obviously too short on me yet not short enough to look like it was “on purpose”.

DSC03066I was going to toss them in my give-away pile but then I saw this on Pinterest.

Screen shot 2013-04-05 at 10.26.00 AM

 

Originally pinned from here

After reading the instructions, I wasn’t sure that they would work on denim, but what did I have to lose?

Following the instructions, I first filled up my sink with lukewarm water and some baby wash.DSC03067 DSC03068

I added my jeans and let them soak for a few minutes.DSC03069After I knew the water and shampoo was worked through, I wrung them out (without rinsing).

DSC03071I laid my jeans out on a big towel and rolled them up.  My goal was for the jeans to be damp, but not too wet.DSC03073 DSC03074After I unrolled the towel, I just started stretching the legs.  I found the easiest way to stretch them was by pulling by the side seams.  I only needed a couple inches, so it didn’t take very much effort.image-3After stretching them as much as I needed, I just let them air dry.  DO NOT DRY IN THE DRYER.  That’s what got me here in the first place! 🙂  When they were good and dry, I tried them on.  Voila!!DSC03120Here’s the side-by-side before and after:

DSC03066DSC03120

Yay! Now I don’t have to buy another new pair.  AND, I’m sure that I can un-shrink them again if I need to.

In fact, this process would probably work on a lot of clothing items.  Anyone else have some tips on righting laundry wrongs?  I’d love to hear them!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

