Sausage Stuffed Peppers

DSC02753

Recently, I’ve been thinking of new meals to try.  I seem to go through phases where I make the same things and we eventually get bored with it.  I made these last night.  They were YUM!

Ingredients:

  • 4 green peppers, washed
  • 1 lb. Italian Sausage
  • 1/4 cup red onion, chopped
  • 1/4 cup cherry tomatos, halved
  • 3/4 cup shredded Italian cheese, divided
  • 1/4 cup bread crumbs (I used Panko)
  • Salt and Pepper

First, preheat the oven to 400F.  While that’s heating up, cut the top off the green peppers and remove the seeds and ribs.DSC02743When the oven is preheated, pop the peppers in for 10-15 minutes. (20 if you don’t want any crunch.)DSC02747While they are in there, brown the sausage.DSC02740Once it’s browned, in a medium bowl, combine the sausage with the onion, tomatoes, 1/2 cup of cheese, bread crumbs, and some salt and pepper to taste.  Because I used Italian sausage, I didn’t need any other seasoning.DSC02745

Carefully stuff the peppers with the sausage mixture.DSC02748Then top them with the remaining cheese.  (You can never have too much cheese!)DSC02749Another 10-15 minutes in the oven and you’re done!DSC02756I served our’s with Herbed Basmati Rice (will post that recipe tomorrow, couldn’t be easier!).

A couple things I might tweak for next time: I might add some tomato sauce either to the sausage mixture or just on top for some more flavor.  And Bob suggested an all-in-one meal by adding the rice to the inside.  They were great just like this, but I like to play around with recipes to find our favorite version.

Enjoy!

One thought on “Sausage Stuffed Peppers

  1. Pingback: Herbed Basmati Rice | familyjulius

Leave a Reply

