Put our service to the test…

I took on a little project yesterday.  The guest room had this big blank wall next to the bed that was begging for some attention.I was inspired by Jen from Jen Loves Kev to do a little nail and yarn art.  She free-handed her letters!  I was not at all comfortable with that so I  printed out the letters I wanted, cut them out, and taped them to the wall.

I used Geneva font and obviously made the word “GUEST” a much larger size than “BE OUR“.  I did use a level to make sure they were straight.  Then I started with the easiest letter: “T“.  I just hammered in some nails at each of the corners, pulled the paper off the wall, and wrapped the yarn around the nails.A couple of things to note:

  1. I “finished” 3 letters before I stepped back and realized it would look better with a couple layers of yarn, as opposed to just one (as seen in the picture above).  This will vary depending on how thick your yarn is.  I wrapped all of my letters twice with my yarn.
  2. Jen made these cute zig-zaggy patterns in her letters.  Bob said he wasn’t a fan so I just “outlined” mine.
  3. The letters with curves are definitely a little harder.  The “U” turned out exactly how I wanted it the first time.  But the “O” needed tweaked after I wrapped it with the yarn.  No biggie, just added a couple more nails.
  4. I chose to hammer all the nails into the wall almost all the way after wrapping them with yarn.  I did this for a couple reasons.  First of all, because I just kind of liked that look.  Secondly, because that side of the bed is pretty close to the wall, so if any of our guests got in to bed from that side, I didn’t want them to be punctured if they brushed up against it.  (Or get their hair caught, or rip a hole in their footie pajamas, etc.)

Overall, I love how it turned out.I added a picture we had up in the attic.  It’s a replica of Picasso’s “The Dream“.  I think it’s from Bed, Bath & Beyond.  I actually registered for it when we got married.  Don’t ask me why.  There’s totally an exposed boob!  But the colors are perfect for the room.  The neon squares are just place-holders for something else.

An artsy angle:

The view from the foot of the bed…

Here’s a view from the other side of the bed.  Remember that pillow I made?This room is in desperate need of some window coverings.  I will hopefully get on that in the next couple weeks.

So what do you think?  Who wants to come stay at Hotel de Julius?  I LOVE hosting!

P.S. The guest blogger on Wednesday was NOT Bob.  I think most people thought it was… What a mystery!! 

Leave a Reply

