Front Door Accessory

Like the rest of our house, the front door is a work in progress.  When we moved in it was plain jane white.  I have always wanted a cheery yellow front door so last fall we painted it.  Well…I got the paint and my mother in law painted it for us while we were at work.  I like that it’s yellow…but I’m not sold on it.

I do like that it basically advertises us as Steelers fans in this Ravens community!  It is just brighter than I was picturing.  I also want to switch out the hardware for something darker like oil rubbed bronze or something.  And a more substantial doorknob and lock.  Something like this maybe.

Or even better, this.

With a knocker like this.

Maybe with darker hardware the door won’t look so crazy bright.

We also need a new storm door.  But we’ll wait to get that after we win the lottery.  (Apparently our door frame requires a custom fit storm door which means $$$.)

In the meantime, I wanted to add a little interest.  The front door is, after all, the first impression of a home, right?

So I made a wreath.

It was cheap and easy.  Actually it was free and easy!  I had a bunch of cardboard boxes so I cut two circles from it and taped them together.  Why two?  Just to make it a little bit thicker.  Then I wrapped it in yarn.Then I made some fabric flowers.

I cut some strips of fabric (various sizes) and folded them in half…

I rolled up the end to make the bud and put a dab of hot glue …

Then I started folding the fabric (inward) and wrapping it around the “bud”…

Putting a dab of hot glue every couple of folds.

I just kept wrapping and folding until I got this!

I made a few different sizes using various fabrics, glued them to the wreath and added a ribbon.

I LOVE IT!!  I just wish I had made the wreath a little bigger.  

For now, it adds a little something and looks nice and colorful!

This project was way more fun than what we worked on this weekend.  We totally deep cleaned the kitchen!

One thought on “Front Door Accessory

  1. Pingback: NEW DOORS!!! | familyjulius

Leave a Reply

